Skip to main content

2017-2018 CBE Student Awards and Honors

At the end of each academic year, we compile a list of awards and honors CBE students and faculty received throughout the year. A few are reported in web site news articles but most are not. This compilation is a list of the 2017-2018 student awards, most of which were previously unreported.

Congratulations to all the recipients for your outstanding accomplishments!

Undergraduate Student Awards

Sumner Dudick was an Awardee at the 2018 NC State University Annual Spring Undergraduate Research and Creativity Symposium for his project, “Exploring the Development of Material Properties in Photopolymerizable Ionic Liquids.”

Senior Kobi Felton received a prestigious 2018 Marshall Scholarship and the CBE Scholarly Achievement Award.

Jacob Jacobs – CBE Citizenship and Service Award

Andrew Kristof – NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Jessica Mahinthakumar – NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Ashle Page – NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Catrina Rateb – CBE and College of Engineering Humanities Awards

Senior and AIChE President Rachel Scroggins received the American Institute of Chemical Engineers’ 2017 John J. McKetta Undergraduate Scholarship Award. Rachel also won the CBE and College of Engineering Leadership Awards.

AIChE National Student Poster Competition Winners

  • Steven Erlenbach – 1st place Materials Engineering and Sciences
  • Kobi Felton – 2nd place Materials Engineering and Sciences
  • Andrew Kristof – 1st place Food, Pharmaceutical, and Biotechnology
  • Mohammed Omary– 2nd place Food, Pharmaceutical, and Biotechnology
  • Elizabeth Weaver – 2nd place Food, Pharmaceutical, and Biotechnology

Seniors Sarah Alenezi, Madison Baldwin and Erin Furgason won several awards at the Lulu eGames LIVE event for their start-up venture, Cup’t. The Lulu eGames is NC State’s annual competition for student entrepreneurs

The AIChE Student Chapter won a 2016-2017 Outstanding Student Chapter Award. This marks the chapter’s 22nd Outstanding Student Chapter Award (marking the 20th award in the past 21 years).

Graduate Student Awards

Prajesh Adhikari won the Non-Wovens Institute Best Presentation Award – November 2017

Jonathan M. Conway – James K. Ferrell Outstanding Ph.D. Graduate Award

Ria Corder was a Poster Awardee at the 2017 NC State Molecular Biotechnology Training Program Symposium, and won 3rd Place in the 89th Annual Meeting of the Society of Rheology Student Poster Competition.

At the 91st annual ACS Colloid and Surface Chemistry Symposium Koohee Han won the 3rd place award in the Langmuir Oral Student Award Session, and was awarded the ACS Omega 2nd place Student Poster Award. Thus, he won both oral presentation and poster awards. A very rare accomplishment!

A photo taken by Amber Hubard appears on the cover of the February 26, 2018 issue of Chemical & Engineering News. Also, Amber and Sally Van Gorder, former graduate student in the College of Design, won the Second Place Award in the Graduate Students and Postdocs Photography category of the 2017 NC State Research Image Contest for their untitled image of two self-folded “cups.”

Dennis Lee received the 2018 Vivian T. Stannett Fellow Award

Jenna Meanor received the Fall 2017 Praxair Exceptional TA Award

Anurodh Tripathi received the second-place award in the Engineering category at NC State’s 13th Annual Graduate Student Research Symposium

Austin Williams received the Spring 2017 Praxair Exceptional TA Award

CBE Schoenborn Symposium Oral Presentation Awards

1st — David Chang, “Investigation of surfactant-mediated shear protection of mammalian cells for increased biomanufacturing efficiency”

2nd —  Koohee Han, “A New Class of Microbots and Microswimmers Based on Assemblies of Metallo-Dielectric Microcubes”

3rd — Dishit P. Parekh, “3D Printing of Liquid Metals for Fabrication of Soft Electronics”

CBE Schoenborn Symposium Poster Presentation Awards

1st —  Bharadwaja Srimat Tirumala Peddinti, “Photoactive Polymers for Anti-Infective Materials”

2nd — Sabina Islam, “Post-deposition coffee ring formation in thin polyester films”

3rd tie — Arnab Bose, “Understanding Pyrolysis Kinetics of Xylan and D-Xylose”