Skip to main content

2018-2019 CBE Student Awards and Honors

At the end of each academic year, we compile a list of awards and honors CBE students and faculty received throughout the year. The list of 2018-2019 student awards follows below.

Congratulations to all the recipients for your outstanding accomplishments!

Undergraduate Student Awards

Michael Bowen was an Awardee at the 2019 NC State University Annual Spring Undergraduate Research and Creativity Symposium for his project, “Mind Over Matter.”

Matthew Burroughs received the CBE Senior Scholarship Award. Matt also won a second-place award for his poster presentation in the 2018 AIChE National Student Poster Competition.

Jayme Currie received the AIChE Donald F. & Mildred Topp Othmer Scholarship

Sydney Floryanzia received the AIChE Freshman Recognition Award. Sydney was also a member of the NC State SensUs team that won third place in the annual international student competition on sensors for health in the Netherlands.

Joseph Holder received the AIChE Donald F. Othmer Sophomore Academic Excellence Award

Corwin Kerr received several awards based on his work as a student researcher. First, he was an awardee for his project at the 2019 NCSU Annual Spring Undergraduate Research and Creativity Symposium. Second, he received the Richard L. Blanton Capstone Award through the University Honors Program. Third, he published the results of his research project as the first author of an article, A low-cost, non-invasive phase velocity and length meter and controller for multiphase lab-in-a-tube devices, in the prestigious microfluidics journal Lab on a Chip. Finally, Corwin won a first-place award for his poster presentation in the 2018 AIChE National Student Poster Competition.

Caroline Moody received the CBE and College of Engineering Humanities Awards

Rosalynn Phan received the CBE Senior Citizenship and Service Award

Malay Shah received the CBE Senior Leadership Award

AIChE National Student Poster Competition Winners

  • Matthew Burroughs – 2nd place in the Food, Pharmaceutical, and Biotechnology Category
  • Corwin Kerr – 1st place in the General Chemical Engineering Category

The AIChE Student Chapter won a 2017-2018 Outstanding Student Chapter Award. This marks the chapter’s 23rd Outstanding Student Chapter Award (marking the 21st award in the past 22 years). There are more than 120 student chapters in the U.S.

2018 graduates Brooke McGirr (currently at the University of Virginia) and Andrew Murphy (currently at The University of Texas at Austin) received National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships.

Graduate Student Awards

Sahand Bosari received the 2018 Vivian T. Stannett Fellow Award

Zachary Campbell was selected to receive a Fulbright Scholarship that funds a fully-paid nine-month research stay at the Institut de Chimie de la Matière Condensée de Bordeaux (ICMCB) in France.

Amelia Chen received the Spring 2017 Praxair Exceptional TA Award

Ria Corder received the Fall 2018 Praxair Exceptional TA Award

Camdem Cutright earned the Best Presentation Award with his talk, “Stimuli-Responsive Hydrogels in Nonwoven Fabrics as Membranes for Programmable Transport/Blocking of Moisture and Small Molecules” at the Fall meeting of the Nonwovens Institute (NWI) Industrial Advisory Board.

Koohee Han – James K. Ferrell Outstanding Ph.D. Graduate Award

Bharadwaja Srimat Tirumala Peddinti (S.T.P.) won the poster competition Grand Prize at the 2018 Triangle Student Research Competition

Kaihang Shi won Best Poster Award at two international conferences during the summer of 2018: Characterization of Porous Materials 8 (CPM-8) in Delray Beach, Florida and FOMMS 2018 (Fundamentals of Molecular Modeling and Simulation) in Delavan, Wisconsin. These are two of the most important international conferences in the area of molecular modeling and simulation, each held every 3 years.

Minyung Song received 2nd place at the national Materials Research Society meeting in the “Science as Art” category.

Anurodh Tripathi (PhD, 2018) was selected to received the 2019 Distinguished Graduate Dissertation
Award from the College of Engineering. This is a significant accomplishment given that the College graduates approximately 180 Ph.D.’s per year. Anurodh’s thesis is “Light-weight materials from biopolymers: from synthesis to applications.”

Siyao Wang won the Technical Merit Award with her research project, “Intrinsically Microporous Nonwovens” at the Fall meeting of the Nonwovens Institute (NWI) Industrial Advisory Board.

Jiaqi Yan and Vasudev Haribal won awards at the Schoenborn Graduate Research Symposium, as well as multiple awards from outside the department:

Jiaqi received the Polymer Modifiers & Additives Division (PMAD) Challenge Award, a national technical writing competition hosted by the Society of Plastics Engineers (SPE). Every year, 3 students nationally can win the award. She was also selected to attend the 2019 National School on Neutron and X-ray Scattering; a competitive, two-week program that’s held at Argonne National Laboratory and Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

Vasudev received four awards. First, he received awards for two poster presentations at the 2018 AIChE Annual Meeting in Pittsburg, PA. He won:

  • The Catalysis and Reaction Engineering (CRE) Division Poster Award for his poster titled ‘Kinetics of Ethane Oxidative Dehydrogenation via Chemical Looping’. The Award included being selected as the best presenter in the division’s technical area of reaction engineering. Over 350 participants presented their work during the CRE Division poster session.
  • Third place in the Particle Technology Forum (PTF) Poster Session, for his work titled ‘Light Alkane Valorization to Ethylene via Chemical Looping Oxidative Dehydrogenation’.

He also won the first-place award in the Engineering category at the NCSU 14th Annual Graduate Student Research Symposium and he was the second runner-up for the Best Student Paper at the 43rd Clearwater Clean Energy Conference in Clearwater, Florida.

CBE Schoenborn Symposium Oral Presentation Awards

1st (tie) — Vasudev Pralhad Haribal, “Experimental and Modeling Studies of Natural GasValorization and Water/CO2-Splitting”

1st (tie) —  Christopher Straub, “Direct Conversion of Transgenic Poplar to Biofuels via Simultaneous Distillation and Fermentation”

3rd — Amulya Pervaje, “Computational Modeling of Polymer Glass Transition, Thermosets, and Fibers”

CBE Schoenborn Symposium Poster Presentation Awards

1st —  Jiaqi Yan, “Polymer/Polymer Interfaces with Customized Block Copolymers”

2nd — Sabina Islam, “The nanoscience of bourbon: Self-assembled micro-webs of colloids from whiskey droplet evaporation as unique identifiers of bourbon whiskeys”

3rd tie — Javier Huayta, “Analysing the Torrefaction Products of Xylose and Xylan”