Skip to main content

Alums Lane Daley and Jeffrey Millman Receive AICHE 35 Under 35 Awards

Two CBE alumni, Lane Daley (’11) and Jeffrey Millman (’05), are members of the inaugural group of recipients of the AIChE 35 Under 35 Award. The award “was created to acknowledge the successes of some of AIChE’s youngest members, all under the age of 35, and to promote the achievements of this generation of chemical engineers who are changing the face of the profession.”

“The winners exemplify the best our profession has to offer and represent the full breadth of early ChE career paths. Each award winner was selected for their achievements in one of seven categories: bioengineering, chemicals, education, energy, innovation, leadership, and safety.”

Lane DaleyAn article on the AIChE website, describes Lane as having a passion for the outdoors. That passion motivated her to leave a job in the chemical industry and to move to a position as a project engineer at Clif Bar and Co. In the article she’s quoted as saying she advocates finding a company and company culture “that resonates with you … because we spend too much time at work to not 100% enjoy it.”

As a founding member of the Tri-Cities Tennessee Professional Chapter of Engineers without Borders, Lane traveled to Samne, Peru, to assess the water needs of the community. Her accomplishments as a leader were the basis of her award.

Jeffrey MillmanJeffrey, an assistant professor of medicine and biomedical engineering at the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, heads a research lab that uses stem cells in diabetes and regenerative medicine research.

In the article he’s quoted as saying, “transplantation of these engineered tissues will one day replace the need for insulin injections in diabetes patients.” … Millman has embraced the apprehension that comes with trying something new, like cutting-edge research, advising others to do the same and “move forward, confident that your failures will lead to growth and success.”

Jeffrey’s selection to receive the Award was based on his bioengineering research.

Congratulations to these exemplary alumni!