Skip to main content

Alums Steffanie B. Easter, Kobe Felton and Jerry Spivey are in the News

Alumni Steffanie B. Easter (B.S. ’85), Kobe Felton (B.S. ’18) and Dr. James J. (Jerry) Spivey (B.S. ’72 M.S. ’74) have recently either received career awards or were featured in news articles in a significant way…

Ms. Steffanie Easter receives award from Dean Martin-Vega
Ms. Steffanie Easter receives Distinguished Alumni Award from Dean Martin-Vega

Steffanie received a 2019 Distinguished Engineering Alumnus Award. The Award was established in 1966 to honor engineering graduates who have been recognized for outstanding achievements in one or more of the following categories:

  • Planning and direction of engineering work
  • Fostering professional development of young engineers
  • Contributing to knowledge in the field of engineering
  • Bringing, in other ways, distinction to the University through engineering achievement

As Director, Navy Staff, Steffanie serves as the senior civilian on the Chief of Naval Operations (OPNAV) staff and coordinates enterprise-level efforts across the entire OPNAV area of respnsibility. In that role, she provides advice and support about the stationing of more than 400 flag officers and senior executives to the Chief of Naval Operations and the Secretary of the Navy.

Her professional awards include the Army Exceptional Civilian Service Award in 2017, and the Meritorious Executive Presidential Rank Award and the Secretary of Defense Meritorious Civilian Service Award, both in 2016. She was the Alumni Remarks speaker at our May 2017 Graduation Ceremony and she received the CBE Distinguished Alumni Award in December 2017.

Kobi Felton
Kobi Felton – 2018 Marshall Scholar

Kobe is the third NCSU recipient, and the first since 2008, of a prestigious Marshall Scholarship. According to their web site, “Marshall Scholarships finance young Americans of high ability to study for a degree in the United Kingdom…

“As future leaders, with a lasting understanding of British society, Marshall Scholars strengthen the enduring relationship between the British and American peoples, their governments and their institutions. Marshall Scholars are talented, independent and wide-ranging, and their time as Scholars enhances their intellectual and personal growth.”

Kobe participated in the Chemical Engineering Honors Concentration with a minor in Spanish. He was a Park Scholar, a University Scholar and was a university valedictorian. When Kobi arrived at NC State, he chose his major and immediately sought out research opportunities. That interest led to his yearlong participation in a National Science Foundation Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) and ultimately led to his work as an undergraduate researcher in Professor Milad Abolhasani’s research lab.

He is one of several Marshall Scholars who describe their participation in the program in a promotional video. His video can be accessed here.

Professor Jerry Spivey
Professor Jerry Spivey

Jerry received the Organic Reactions Catalysis Society’s Murray Raney Award. Established in 1992, the Award is presented “to scientists who have made outstanding contributions in the field of catalysis as it applies to organic synthesis.”

From N.C. State, Jerry moved on to LSU where he completed his Ph.D. in chemical engineering in 1980. After working for the Ethyl Corporation in Baton Rouge, and the Research Triangle Institute where he was the Senior Program Director in Process Research, Jerry joined the Department of Chemical Engineering at LSU where he’s the James McLaurin Shivers Professor and Clarence M. Eidt Jr. Professor. His research interests include catalysis and energy.

Jerry is Editor-in-Chief of Catalysis Today, and Editor of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s Catalysis book series.  He has written/edited a total of 17 books over the last 15 years, and has authored more than 120 publications. In 2007 he was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, Cambridge, UK.

Congratulations to these outstanding alumni!