Skip to main content

Professor Albert Keung is a University Faculty Scholar

Professor Albert Keung
Professor Albert Keung

Professor Albert Keung has been selected as a member of the 2021-2022 class of NC State’s University Faculty Scholars. The University Faculty Scholars Program was established in 2012 by Chancellor Randy Woodson “to recognize and reward emerging academic leaders among our faculty…”

Faculty members selected as University Faculty Scholars carry the title for the duration of their faculty appointment at NC State and receive an increase to their base salary. Each year, approximately twenty (20) tenured or tenure-track faculty scholars are selected from the pool of 2,400+ NC State faculty members.

Faculty members are nominated by their colleges and selected by a committee of senior faculty. Nominees are evaluated on their research and scholarship productivity, excellence in teaching and mentoring, and leadership in extension, professional societies and public service initiatives.

Professor Keung’s research interests include the human genome, synthetic biology, neural and stem cell engineering, and how molecular technologies can be used to expand and unlock new ways to control, understand and harness chromatin. He earned his B.S. and Ph.D. degrees, both in chemical engineering, at Stanford University and the University of California at Berkeley, respectively, and he was a postdoctoral fellow in bioengineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and in biomedical engineering at Boston University.

His recent professional recognitions include a prestigious 2017 Avenir Award from the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) within the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the 2020 ACS Synthetic Biology Young Innovator Award, and the CURE-AS Innovation in Investigation Award from the Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics. Along with co-founders Prof. James Tuck in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at NC State and CBE graduate Kyle Tomek (Ph.D. ’21), Prof. Keung is a co-founder of start-up company, DNAli Data Technologies.

Keung research group membersProfessor Keung attributes much of his success as a research scholar to the individual and collective accomplishments of members of his research group. In acknowledging his selection, his message is, “The selection as a UFS recognizes the work, commitment, and creativity of the past and present members of the Keung Lab. We are all grateful to think and do at NC State. Thank you on behalf of Dilara Sen, Jessica Lee, Elaine Indermaur, Taylor Cecil, Aneesh Arimbasseri, Jennifer Lo, Alexis Voulgaropolous, Ryan Tam, Jenna Meanor, Kyle Tomek, Thomas Rudibaugh, Kevin Lin, Zuzana Drobna, Linna Han, Zach McCracken, Nicholas Levering, Christa Parrish, Austin Hass, Chloe Tenn, Alison Waldman, Chris Estridge, Leandra Caywood, Begum Yagci, Joe Penrod, Gautami Kelkar, Magdelene Lee, Karishma Matange, Samuel Aklilu, Jennifer O’Neill, Seth Kodikara, Samantha Stuppy, Maria Fadri, Amy Leister, Katie Traynelis, Antonio Alonso-Stepanova, and Ty Johnson.”

Some of the group members appear in the photo above.

Congratulations to Prof. Keung for this well-deserved recognition of your faculty excellence!