Skip to main content

Professor Milad Abolhasani Received a 2021 John C. Chen Young Professional Leadership Scholarship

Professor Milad Abolhasani
Prof. Milad Abolhasani

Professor Milad Abolhasani has received a 2021 John C. Chen Young Professional Leadership Scholarship from the AIChE.

Dr. Chen was the Carl R. Anderson Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering at Lehigh University and AIChE’s President in 2006. To pay lasting tribute to Dr. Chen, the AIChE Foundation established an endowment fund that provides scholarship funds to support, in perpetuity, the leadership development training of two selected young professional members of AIChE annually.

Scholarship recipients receive enrollment in a leadership program, conference registration at the AIChE Annual Meeting, a monetary award, a one-on-one career counseling session and an interview with ChEencted (an online community created for and by young professional chemical engineers) to be shared throughout AIChE’s global community.

Professor Abolhasani is an associate professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering and a University Faculty Scholar. His NC State awards and honors include being an inaugural recipient of a Goodnight Early Career Innovator Award, receiving funding from the 2022 Chancellor’s Innovation Fund (CIF) to develop and commercialize the Arti-Chem: Self-Driven Quantum Dot Synthesizer, which is a device he and his colleagues invented, and receiving a nearly $1.5 million grant through the University of North Carolina’s Research Opportunities Initiative (UNC ROI). From outside the University his awards and honors include a National Science Foundation CAREER Award, being selected as a member of the 2020 class of AIChE 35 Under 35 award, which honors “engineers under the age of 35 who have made significant contributions to the Institute and to the chemical engineering profession,” and he received a Dreyfus Foundation 2021 Machine Learning in the Chemical Sciences & Engineering Award.

Congratulations to Prof. Abolhasani for your selection to receive the Chen Scholarship!