Skip to main content

Professors Carbonell and Fedkiw are AAAS Fellows

Professors Ruben G. Carbonell and Peter S. Fedkiw have been elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.

Per the AAAS web site, “Election as a Fellow honors members whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications in service to society have distinguished them among their peers and colleagues…

“In a tradition stretching back to 1874, these individuals are recognized for their extraordinary achievements across disciplines.” AAAS has individual members in more than 91 countries around the globe.

In the AAAS announcement, Prof. Carbonell was cited “For distinguished contributions to the field of chemical and biomolecular engineering, particularly innovations in multiphase reactor design, high-pressure thin-film coating and novel bioseparation processes.”

Professor Ruben Carbonell
Professor Ruben Carbonell

Prof. Carbonell is the Frank Hawkins Kenan Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering, the Director of the Kenan Institute for Engineering, Technology & Science and the Chief Technology Officer of the National Institute for Innovation in Manufacturing Biopharmaceuticals (NIIMBL). His numerous awards include the R. J. Reynolds Award for Excellence in Teaching, Research and Extension and the Alcoa Outstanding Research Award, both from the NC State College of Engineering, and the Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence at NC State University, the highest award given to university faculty.

He is also the recipient of the 2018 O. Max Gardner Award. The Gardner Award goes to “that member of the faculty of the Consolidated University of North Carolina, who, during the current scholastic year, has made the greatest contribution to the welfare of the human race.” The Award is the UNC system’s highest faculty honor. He is a Fellow of the AIChE and the Industrial and Engineering Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society, and a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

Professor Peter Fedkiw
Professor Peter Fedkiw

Prof. Fedkiw was cited “For distinguished contributions to electrochemical engineering, including electrochemical-based mass transfer separation processes, optimal control of electrochemical reactors and composite electrolytes for rechargeable lithium batteries.”

He is an Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor and has served as the CBE department head since 2008. Prof. Fedkiw’s research interests include electrochemical reaction engineering, specifically the conception, analysis, design, experimental verification, and control of electrochemical devices for energy production or storage. His other studies include the use of metallized polymeric-electrolyte-membrane reactors, the use of metallized yttria-doped zirconia electrolytes for electrochemical reduction of NOx, and kinetic studies of methanol oxidation as a contribution to the development of an electric automobile.

Prof. Fedkiw earned his B.S. and Ph.D degrees in chemical engineering from the University of Delaware and the University of California, Berkeley, respectively.

Congratulations to Professors Carbonell and Fedkiw for this high honor!