Skip to main content

Recent Awards for Professors Gubbins, Khan, Spontak and Westmoreland

Professors Keith Gubbins, Saad Khan, Richard Spontak and Phil Westmoreland have received recent professional awards.

Professor Spontak was selected as a member of the new Academy of Excellence in Global Engagement. Its purpose is to honor the accomplishments of faculty and staff at NC State who have made “distinguished contributions to global initiatives at NC State.”

Members of the Academy are encouraged to serve as a resource for professional development programs such as the Global Engagement Institute, where they can provide guidance to early-career faculty interested in developing research, scholarship or academic programs with an international focus.

Professor Spontak has a long history of professional accomplishments at the international level. For instance, he’s a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry and the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining, both in the United Kingdom. Fellows are the highest grade of membership of most professional or learned societies. In 2015, he received the Society of Plastics Engineers International Award.

In 2012 Professor Spontak was selected to receive the Lars Onsager Professorship and Medal at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in Trondheim, Norway. He’s also a member of the Norwegian Academy of Technological Sciences (NTVA). The NTVA is the Norwegian equivalent of the National Academy of Engineering.

Professors Gubbins, Khan and Westmoreland were included on the list of “25 Chemical Engineering Professors You Should Know” compiled by editors of the Online Engineering Programs (OEP) web site. The OEP mission is to be a one-stop resource about online engineering degree programs in the U.S., in this instance, the CBE online Master of Science in Chemical Engineering (MSCHE).

According to Best College Review  our online MSCHE program is the best in the nation.

Professor Gubbins is the W. H. Clark Distinguished University Professor and a member of the National Academy of Engineering. His research program is aimed at understanding, at the molecular level, the behavior of nano-dimensional fluids and solids. Professor Khan is an INVISTA Professor and Director of the CBE Graduate Program. His research interests focus on the rheology of structured polymeric systems, particularly the relationship between material microstructure, chemistry, and macroscopic properties.

Professor Westmoreland (B.S. ’73) is well known for his wide range of service and achievements within the chemical engineering community. His many honors include being a Fellow of both the AIChE and the Combustion Institute, his recent election to the NCSU Research Leadership Academy, and recipient of the Outstanding Research Award from the NCSU Alumni Association, serving as 2013 President of the AIChE, and founding Chair of the AIChE Computational Molecular Science and Engineering Forum.