Skip to main content

Undergrads Neil Baugh, Michael Bowen and Corwin Kerr Earn Research-Related Honors

Three undergraduate students with CBE affiliations, Michael Bowen, Corwin Kerr and Neil Baugh, have scored recent honors and awards related to their research in our department.

Michael and Corwin each won an Outstanding Poster Presentation Award at the 28th Annual Spring Undergraduate Research & Creativity Symposium. Michael’s poster was “Mind Over Matter;” Corwin’s poster was “Flow Characterization for Multi-Phase Lab-in-a-Tube Devices via Low-Cost Optical Methods.” Both students are researchers in professor Milad Abolhasani’s research group.

Seven engineering students earned awards for their posters; 67 engineering posters were entered in the competition.

Neil has been awarded a Goldwater Scholarship for the 2019-2020 academic year. A junior majoring in materials science and engineering, Neil is a researcher in professor Michael Dickey’s research group.

The Goldwater Scholarship Program was established by the U.S. Congress in honor of former U.S. Senator Barry Goldwater. According to the Goldwater Foundation web site, “The Goldwater Scholarship Program, one of the oldest and most prestigious national scholarships in the natural sciences, engineering and mathematics in the United States, seeks to identify and support college sophomores and juniors who show exceptional promise of becoming this Nation’s next generation of research leaders in these fields.”

Competition for Goldwater Scholarship is intense. From an estimated pool of over 5,000 college sophomores and juniors, 1223 natural science, engineering and mathematics students were nominated by 443 academic institutions to compete for the 2019 scholarships. Seventy-four of the 496 scholarship recipients are majoring in engineering.

Each year, accredited 2- and 4-year academic institutions may nominate up to four students. No direct student applications are accepted. All four of the NC State nominees received 2019-2020 scholarships. By comparison, three students at Harvard and three students at MIT received 2019-2020 scholarships.

Congratulations to Corwin, Michael and Neil for your excellent achievements!